Events | Huddersfield Civic Society 2018 Programme

Huddersfield Civic Society
Feb 19

Huddersfield Civic Society 2018 Programme

19th Feb 2018 00:00

Huddersfield Civic Society 2018 Programme

19.30 Tue 20 February: Sir Howard Bernstein (former Chief Executive of Manchester City Council) – ‘Balancing the National Economy’ – a joint HCS/University of Huddersfield event.

19.00 Tue 6 March: HCS AGM followed by HCS Design Awards 2017 Presentation and Awards.

19.30 Tue 1 May: Nick Baker, the Edgar Wood Society – ‘Edgar Wood& His Fellow Northern Art Workers: Masters of Pennine Design’’ – a joint HCS/Edgar Wood Heritage Group event.

19.30 Tue 5 June: Vernon O’Reilly, Chairman of The Huddersfield Partnership: Huddersfield Business Improvement District (BID) proposals.

14.30 Sun 23 June: Civic Day.

09.00 Sat 14 July: Day Visit to the National Stone Centre, Richard Arkwright’s Cromford Mills – a World Heritage Site - and Matlock.

18.30 Tue 21 August:Evening Visit to Cleckheaton.

Thu 19.30 Tue 4 September:Speaker to be confirmed

Thu 6 – Sun 9 and Thu 13 – Sun 16 September:Huddersfield Heritage Open Days.

19.30 Tue 2 October:Professor Adrian Pitts: Perspectives on China – Urbanisation and Rural Regeneration in a Developing Society.

19.30 Tue 6 November: Robert Evans of Evans Vettori Architects: An outline of projects by one of the rising stars of British architecture including Halifax Square Chapel Arts Centre.

19.30 Tue 11 December: Christmas Social - details to be announced.

Please Note: Speaker Evenings are held in the Reception Room, Huddersfield Town Hall, Corporation Street HD1 2TA apart from 1 May (venue to be confirmed), and the 6 November and 11 December which will both be at Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield.

HCS Committee Meetings

19.00 Mondays; 19 Feb, 16 Apr, 21 May, 16 Jul, 17 Sep, 15 Oct, 19 Nov

Held at TransPennine Express Hub, 1st Floor, Huddersfield Railway Station HD1 1JB.

At committee meetings we discuss key issues including planning matters, HCS campaigns and initiatives, events programmes and publicity and promotion.

Members are welcome. If you would like to attend a meeting or have an issue you would like to raise please contact the HCS Secretary. Note: there is no level access to the Hub.