News | HCS Programme 2017

Huddersfield Civic Society

HCS Programme 2017

Posted on 20 February 2017 by David Wyles

Huddersfield Civic Society 2017 programme

19.15 Tue 7 March: Society’s Annual General Meeting and Design Awards 2016.

19.30 Tue 4 April: David Taylor, Emeritus Professor of History, University of Huddersfield - ‘Beerhouses, Brothels and Bobbies’- the evolution of the police force in Huddersfield from 1848 to 1868.

19.30 Tue 2 May: Chris Thompson, Managing Director, Citu – an outline of the Climate Innovation District, Leeds.

19.30 Tue 6 June: Danni Kerr – Innovations in Architecture.

Sat 17 June, Civic Day: Launch of the Civic Society book 'The Villas of Edgerton' with the author, David Griffiths at the Ukrainian Club, 7 Edgerton Road, HD1 5RA.*

08.30 Sat 24 June: Day Visit to Hull, UK City of Culture 2017. Details to be announced.*

18.30 Tue 1 August: Evening Visit to Wakefield, hosted by Kevin Trickett, President, Wakefield Civic Society. Details to be announced*

Thu 7 – Sun 10 September: Huddersfield Heritage Open Days.*

19.30 Tue 12 September: Gareth Davies, Managing Director, Kirklees Stadium Development Ltd – HD One Development proposals.

19.30 Tue 3 October: Chris Marsden, HCS Chairman, presents the Sotnik and Dixon Photographic Archive of Huddersfield.

19.30 Tue 7 November: to be announced

19.30 Tues 12 December: Christmas Social to be announced*

Events held in the Reception Room, Huddersfield Town Hall, Corporation Street HD1 2TA unless marked*

HCS Committee meetings

19.00 Mondays; 13 Feb , 24 Apr, 15 May, 10 Jul, 18 Sep, 16 Oct, 20 Nov & 15 Jan 2018

Held at TPExpress Hub, 1st Floor, Huddersfield Railway Station HD1 1JB

At committee meetings we discuss key issues including planning matters, HCS campaigns and initiatives, events programmes and publicity and promotion.

Members are welcome. If you would like to attend a meeting or have an issue you would like to raise please contact the HCS Secretary. No level access to the Hub.